Emergency calls for deaf and hearing impaired persons and for persons with a speech impediment

When you are deaf or hearing-impaired, or when you have a speech impediment, you can now also contact the emergency centres by means of the app and by SMS.


Attention:

  •   Both the app 112 BE and the SMS service are only available in Belgium.
  •   When you can contact the emergency centres by means of a normal voice call, please do not use the chat function of the app or the SMS service. By asking questions orally the operator can anticipate the answers faster. Moreover, by means of a normal voice call operators can provide medical accompaniment such as resuscitation instructions.

App 112 BE

If you have a smartphone, the app 112 BE is one of the possibilities to contact the emergency centres when you are in distress and need urgent assistance of the fire brigade, an ambulance and/or the police in Belgium.

A few advantages:

  •   3 emergency services, 1 app: you don't need to remember the emergency numbers. You just click on the icon of the fire brigade, ambulance or police, depending on the type of assistance you need.
  •    Localization: the emergency centres can find you more easily by means of the GPS function on your smartphone thanks to this app. When your "location" is switched on in your smartphone, the app sends your location to the emergency centre as soon as you call and then sends an update of your location every 30 seconds for as long as you are calling. If you called the emergency centres and you don't respond anymore after that, then the emergency centres let your smartphone ring so that the emergency services can find and help you more easily.
  •    Chat function: as a deaf or hearing-impaired person, or as a person with a speech impediment, you can mention this while registering the app by checking this option. The app will then automatically activate the chat function when you make an emergency call by means of the app, allowing you to communicate with the emergency centre by means of messages.
  •   Extra information: you can also provide certain medical information, such as a heart condition, allergies (to medication), epilepsy, diabetes, ... The operator has this information even before you have said something and can give this information to the emergency centres that come to help you.

Download and register

infographic APP 112 BE

With a good internet connection it only takes 112 seconds to download, install and register the app on your smartphone. To do so, go to the app or play store on your smartphone, insert “app 112 BE” in the search box and download the app. After the installation of the app you best put it immediately on the home screen of your smartphone so you can easily find it when you're in distress. After that you only need to register. This registration only consists of 2 screens with a number of short questions.

We hope of course you will never need the app, but do register so you can contact the emergency centres using the app when you, your family or your friends need urgent assistance.

More information on the app 112 BE

 

 

How to use the app?
Watch the video below with the explanation in sign language on how to use the app.

 

Attention :

  •   To be able to optimally use the app, you should definitely switch on the localization function of your GSM and possibly the sound.
      The chat function will only be activated automatically when you have checked the box during the registration that you are deaf or hearing-impaired or have a speech impediment.
      The data you introduce during the registration are not systematically kept in the emergency centres, but are automatically sent to the operators when you make an emergency call by means of the app.

SMS

If you don't hve a smartphone, then you can still contact the emergency centres by SMS. This service is free and reserved for deaf and hearing-impaired persons and for persons with a speech impediment. It is not possible to send messages to the traditional emergency numbers 112, 100 and 101, but only to specific numbers that can only be requested by e-mail or SMS by deaf and hearing-impaired persons and persons with a speech impediment.

How to use SMS?

Watch the video below with the explanation in sign language on how to use SMS and on how to request the specific number for the SMS service.


 

Attention:

  •   When you request the specific numbers by SMS or e-mail, you declare on your word of honour that you cannot contact the emergency centres yourself by phone.
  •   You need to have a Belgian SIM card to use the SMS service.
  •   There is 1 number for the fire brigade and ambulance and 1 number for the police. In order not to waste any time, we advise you to use the number for the police if you only need police assistance. In the other cases, dial the number for the fire brigade and ambulance.
  •   As long as you are deaf or hearing-impaired, or have a speech impediment, you can use whatever GSM or GSM number to send an SMS to the emergency numbers.
  •   The emergency numbers cannot receive MMS.

Do you have any questions or have you recently sent an emergency SMS? Then send your questions, experiences or remarks to feedbacksms@ibz.fgov.be.

Do not test the emergency numbers. People using SMS "to play jokes" risk legal action to be taken against them.


Fax

If you don't have a smartphone or GSM, you can still contact the emergency centres by fax.

Just as for a voice call to the emergency numbers, messages by means of the app and SMS can be kept for a year by the emergency centres to improve their service. Of course the operators are bound by confidentiality. This is stated in article 125, § 1, 3° and article 128 of the law of 13 June 2005 regarding the electronic communication.

Appels d'urgence pour sourds, malentendants et personnes atteintes d'un trouble de l'élocution

Si vous êtes sourd, malentendant ou atteint d'un trouble de l'élocution, vous pouvez désormais contacter les centres d'appels urgents également via app et SMS.

Comment utiliser le SMS ?

Regardez ci-dessous la vidéo explicative en langue des signes afin de savoir comment utiliser le SMS, et comment demander les numéros spécifiques pour le service SMS.

Attention :

  •   Tant l'app 112 BE que le service SMS fonctionnent uniquement en Belgique.
  •   Si vous pouvez joindre les centres d'appels urgents via un appel vocal ordinaire, n'utilisez pas la fonction chat de l'app ou le service SMS. En posant les questions oralement, l'opérateur peut réagir plus rapidement aux réponses données. En outre, l'appel vocal permet également d'assurer un accompagnement médical, tel que des instructions de réanimation.

App 112 BE

Si vous avez un smartphone, l'app 112 BE est l'une des possibilités de contacter les centres d'appels urgents en cas de détresse et si vous avez besoin d'urgence des pompiers, d'une ambulance et/ou de la police en Belgique.

Quelques avantages :

  •   3 services de secours, 1 application : pas besoin de retenir les numéros d'urgence. Il vous suffit de cliquer sur l'icône du service d'incendie, de l'ambulance ou de la police, en fonction des secours dont vous avez besoin.
  •   Localisation : les centres d'appels urgents peuvent vous retrouver plus facilement via la fonction GPS de votre smartphone. Si votre "localisation" est activée sur votre smartphone, l'app envoie votre localisation au centre d'appels urgents dès que vous appelez, et transmet ensuite toutes les 30 secondes une actualisation de votre localisation tant que vous restez en ligne . Si vous avez téléphoné aux centres d'appels urgents et que vous ne réagissez plus par la suite, les centres d'appels urgents font sonner votre smartphone afin de permettre aux services de secours de vous retrouver et vous aider plus facilement.
  •   Fonction chat : en tant que personne sourde, malentendante ou atteinte d'un trouble de l'élocution, vous pouvez cocher ces conditions lors de l'enregistrement de l'app. L'app activera alors automatiquement la fonction chat lorsque vous établissez un appel urgent via l'app, vous permettant ainsi de communiquer avec le centre d'appels urgents via des messages.
  •   Informations supplémentaires : vous pouvez également transmettre certaines informations médicales, comme des problèmes cardiaques, des allergies (aux médicaments), l'épilepsie, le diabète… L'opérateur dispose déjà de ces informations avant même que vous n'ayez dit quelque chose et peut les transmettre aux services de secours qui arrivent sur place.

Télécharger et s'enregistrer

infographie APP 112 BE

Avec une bonne connexion Internet, 112 secondes suffisent pour télécharger et installer l'app 112 sur votre smartphone, et vous enregistrer. Pour ce faire, rendez-vous dans l'AppStore ou le PlayStore sur votre smartphone, saisissez "app 112 BE" comme recherche et téléchargez l'app. Une fois l'application installée, il est préférable de la placer directement sur l'écran d'accueil de votre smartphone, afin de la trouver plus facilement en situation de détresse. Il vous suffit ensuite de vous enregistrer. Cet enregistrement comporte seulement 2 écrans avec des questions courtes.

Nous espérons évidemment que vous n'aurez jamais besoin de cette app., mais il est préférable de s'enregistrer malgré tout, que vous puissiez également contacter les centres d'appels urgents via l'app lorsque vous, votre famille ou vos amis ont besoin d'une aide urgente.

Plus d'info relatives à l'app 112 BE

 

Attention :

  •   Pour exploiter au mieux l'app, veillez à activer la fonction de localisation de votre GSM et éventuellement le son.
  •   La fonction chat ne s'active automatiquement que si, lors de l'enregistrement, vous avez coché la case indiquant que vous êtes sourd, malentendant ou atteint d'un trouble de l'élocution.
  •   Les informations que vous complétez lors de l'enregistrement ne sont pas systématiquement actualisées dans les centres d'appels urgents, mais sont transmises automatiquement aux opérateurs lorsque vous établissez un appel via l'app.

SMS

Si vous n'avez pas de smartphone, vous pouvez toujours contacter les centres d'appels urgents par SMS. Ce service est gratuit et réservé aux personnes sourdes, malentendantes et atteintes d'un trouble .de l'élocution. Il est impossible d'envoyer des messages aux numéros d'urgence traditionnels 112 et 101, mais bien aux numéros spécifiques qui ne peuvent être demandés par e-mail ou SMS que par les personnes sourdes, malentendantes et atteintes d'un trouble de l'élocution.

Attention :

  •   En demandant les numéros spécifiques par SMS ou e-mail, vous déclarez sur l'honneur être dans l'incapacité de contacter les centres d'appels urgents par appel vocal.
  •   Vous devez disposer d'une carte SIM belge pour pouvoir utiliser le service SMS.
  •   Un numéro est prévu pour les pompiers et l'ambulance et un autre pour la police. Afin de ne pas perdre de temps, nous vous recommandons d'utiliser le numéro de la police uniquement lors que vous avez besoin de l'aide de la police. Pour les autres cas, veuillez composer le numéro des pompiers et de l'ambulance.
  •   Si vous êtes sourd, malentendant ou atteint d'un trouble de l'élocution, vous pouvez envoyer un SMS aux numéros d'urgence quel que soit le GSM ou le numéro de GSM.
  •   Les centres d'appels urgents ne peuvent pas recevoir de MMS.

Vous avez des questions ou avez récemment envoyé un SMS d'urgence ? Envoyez vos questions, expériences ou remarques à feedbacksms@ibz.fgov.be.
Ne testez pas les numéros d'urgence. Les personnes qui utilisent le SMS pour "faire une blague" risquent des poursuites judiciaires.

Fax

Si vous n'avez pas de smartphone ou de GSM, vous pouvez toujours contacter les centres d'appels urgents par fax.

Tout comme lors d'un appel vocal aux numéros d'urgence, les messages envoyés via l'app ou par SMS peuvent être conservés pendant un an par les centres d'appels urgents, afin d'améliorer la prestation de service. Les opérateurs sont évidemment tenus à un devoir de confidentialité, tel que prévu à l'article 125, § 1, 3° et à l'article 128 de la loi du 13 juin 2005 relative aux communications électroniques.